James Morrison – Somerset House – 12.07.16

I live for an open air gig. There’s nothing more enjoyable than feeling a summer breeze in your hair and the bass pulsating under your skin. Somerset House is one of my favourite places in London, their Summer Series is a triumph for music and art in the UK and James has the perfect voice for such a dreamy location.

I don’t think I ever fully realised how many James Morrison songs I liked until my flatmate at the time kept pestering me to listen to him on Apple Music. I was suddenly confronted with all these songs I liked over the years but never knew the name of or who sang them.

When I got an email about the 2016 Summer Series line-up, seeing James as a headliner felt like fate. Buying tickets was a no-brainer.

Highlights include:

  • Seeing ‘Broken Strings’ performed live – There wasn’t a girl in my secondary school glass that couldn’t sing this song verbatim. Seeing this live catapulted me back to my youth and made me feel all warm and tingly inside.
  • Seeing ‘You Give Me Something‘ performed live – This is a sweet, sweet song. Raspy, tender and just bloody beautiful, it showcases everything I love about James’s voice. By the time he sang this the sun had set and everything felt heightened, I am so glad I got to experience this in person.
  • The location – Somerset House, I will always love you. My wish is to see more artists perform here. My deepest regret is not being able to see James Bay when he performed here in the years previous.

Opening act:

Earlycomers were entertained by a trio of young british men who were incredibly talented, it pains me to say that I can’t remember who they were. If anyone knows who opened for James, please leave a note in the comments.

My verdict:

James Morrison gets a 3-star rating. I really enjoyed the evening, it was pleasant and the venue is what my dreams are made of.

Leave a Reply

